Honey. Lemon. Cinnamon. Coconut oil.

I am not an expert on all things natural that work well with and for your skin.

I am a professional, however, when it comes to my skin. And my skin is generally being a little bitch. Well, not so much lately.

It’s problematic, but not too problematic. Meaning, I’ve never had to deal with true acne issues (I know what this is like, my brother had to endure it and it’s shitty). My skin generally gets a bit oily around the t-zone, I have a few break outs, and is generally pale so any sort of flare up or redness is 10 times more visible, which is why I like to treat my skin to something nice every once in a while.

I like to use different things, and I prefer using natural products which is why I often turn to Lush cosmetics when it comes to skin care, specifically face masks and face wash. But before I go into my whole Lush adoration (which will be a whole other post) I want to tell you about my favourite at home face mask for slightly problematic skin.

I’ve seen this recipe a while ago, and I wish I could remember where so I could give proper credit but I can’t. It’s quite basic but I really love it, and I do think (believe!) it helps my skin.

Basically what you need to do is take a teaspoon of honey (organic, you need to know that it is A+ honey otherwise what’s the point), 1/2 teaspoon extra virgin coconut oil (because I put coconut oil in everything), a teaspoon of lemon juice (again, make sure those lemons are organic and have not been treated with a 101 chemicals)… and if you feel like it a bit of cinnamon. I personally use cinnamon rarely, and only when I want to give my face a bit of a mechanical peel before washing off the mask.

The end product looks something like this (and yes I did mix it with a chopstick in a shot glass, because this is more than enough for one application):

IMAG7477x.png

I feel that this mask in general leaves my skin feeling alright. If I am having particularly troublesome period I might apply it a couple of times a week (without cinnamon!) just to help my skin get by. (+ it’s really good for problematic skin, so if you have trouble with mild or medium break outs do try it out a couple of times a week… but first make sure you’re not allergic to any of the ingredients)

If you want to know more about my face/skin routine let me know. I’ll be posting a Lush products post soon.

✨sparkle sparkle, b✨,
TeeGlow

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

