Coconut oil. (1/?)

Aka the light and love of my life. Buckle in because it’s going to be a long(ish) one.

IMAG7425hh

I use coconut oil for… p much everything. I use it on its own on my hair, I use it when I make some DIY hair masks. I use it on my whole body, I use it on my face. I cook with it! I mean, I am not sure if I’m doing the whole coconut oil thing correctly but I sort of jumped on it and I just abuse its powers as much as I can.

That sounds weird.

This sounds weird.

I mean I’m pretty sure that anyone who actually attempted reading this probably knows all about the ~amazing~ properties of coconut oil and why it’s good for you (for many parts of you… inside and out). I mean just look at this:

Untitled-1

Basically it’s this all in one thing that’s actually affordable and you can use it for food as well, which is a big plus (in my world). So, if you don’t know what its benefits are we can sort of name a few here… but we’ll do this in a better way than just throwing facts in your face. We’ll go through all the ways I use coconut oil and see if I am just fucking shit up or actually doing some good to my body and spirit in general.

And today we start with coconut oil and hair!

When I first bought coconut oil I bought it to help my hair during summer. I have pretty long hair and I spend a lot of time at the seaside during the summer months. This means my hair is constantly exposed to the sun, and the sea, and the salt. Plus it’s summer so I don’t usually take much time to, you know, take care of it properly, PLUS I absolutely hate washing out the salt from my hair because I am a sweet, summer, sea child and I love how easily you can style salty, sea hair. Anyway, after a month and a half of all of that my hair usually does not feel (or look) all that great.

Thus, one summer (a couple of years ago) I bought a jar of coconut oil and was determined to coconut oil my hair at least once a week. And so I did.

Coconut oil for hair:

  • For hair loss!
  • Hair damage (this means I was doing things right, so far)!
    • “The use of coconut oil on hair helps to reduce protein loss in both damaged as well as undamaged hair. This oil is rich in lauric acid, has a high affinity for hair protein, and easily penetrates inside the hair shaft, which is due to its low molecular weight. It can be used for pre-wash or post-wash hair grooming.”
  • Cooling properties (I did not know this).
  • Moisture retention: coconut oil has high moisture retention. (this is supposed to be good for preventing hair breakage)
  • Hair conditioning.
    • Better than any synthetic conditioners out there, it leaves hair soft and shiny.
  • Dandruff prevention
  • Lice protection (ick!)
  • Styling (eh, I wouldn’t use it for this in particular)
  • And if you’re interested there’s more here, here, here, and here. (the last one is a link to a google search)

How do I use coconut oil on my hair? A good question! 

The most common way I use coconut oil on my hair is massaging it in my scalp (for that hair growth and dandruff issue) and spreading it all over my hair, with strong focus on the tips and ends because that’s where your hair generally suffers the most. Or at least mine does. I do this either on damp or dry hair, depending on how much time I have, and the amount of effort I want to put in.

I leave it on for a few hours or overnight and then rinse it out. It usually takes 2 or 3 shampooings but I use the Johnson&Johnson baby hair shampoo which is supposed to be mild. I would suggest washing it out with mild shampoo. Then you can proceed with general hair rinsing and if you wish conditioning. And let your hair dry naturally because you’ve just fed it, so don’t torch it with heat.

Does it work?

First of all I am not sure about dandruff because my scalp and hair do tend to shift with time, so I can’t be sure what helped me (or what helps me). What I can tell you is that my hair is incredibly soft after treating it with some coconut oil AND my hairdresser did comment on the health of my hair after a whole summer of sea, salt, and sunshine + coconut oil. She said my hair looked much better than usual, so I can give you that. Plus, there’s something lovely about your hair smelling like coconuts.

Alternative uses?

Sometimes I like to just mix it with some avocado oil to mix things up.

That’s it for the simple hair uses, and if I ever find a better or a more efficient way to use coconut oil I will share it. Hope you found this at least entertaining if not useful.

Don’t forget to ✨sparkle sparkle✨,
TeeGlow

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

